24.6.2021 : 16:46 : +0200

General Information | Point of Contact | PoA initiatives & activites | Instruments & documents | Members


Regional Cooperation Council (RCC)


Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Web site

Short description

The RCC promotes mutual cooperation in the European and Euro-Atlantic integration of South-east Europe, focusing on economic and social development, infrastructure and justice and home affairs, and security cooperation, among other areas.


RCC members that contribute to the budget of the Secretariat make up the RCC board, which has 27 members (as of May 2012). States of the region itself contribute 40 per cent of the RCC budget. The European Commission supplies 30 per cent and other RCC members finance the remaining 30 per cent. The EU, Norway, the Swedish Armed Forces, and UNDP fund most of the current projects of the South Eastern and Eastern Europe Clearinghouse for the Control of Small Arms and Light Weapons (SEESAC).

The Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe (1999–2008), which was part of a long-term conflict prevention strategy for the Balkans, was the predecessor of the RCC. The RCC was officially launched in February 2008.The RCC operates under the latter’s political guidance. There are 27 RCC board members: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, the EU, Germany, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UNMIK, and the United States. The 15 non-state members comprise five UN bodies (including IOM), six intergovernmental organizations, and four development banks.


46 members (31 are UN member states)

  • Current members*: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, CEDB, Council of Europe, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, EBRD, EIB, EU, Germany, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, IOM, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, NATO, Norway, OECD, OSCE, Poland, Romania, SELEC, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UN, UNDP, UNECE, United Kingdom, United States, UNMIK, World Bank (Bold: founding member, Grey: suspended member)
  • Former members: None
  • Membership pending: None

Overlapping memberships with other ROs

RCC members represent:

  • 19 of 27 EU members (the EU itself is also represented as an RCC member)
  • 21 of 28 NATO members
  • 31 of 56 OSCE members

* Information accurate as of 1 June 2012

PoA Point of Contact

  • Ivan Zverzhanovski
  • SEESAC Coordinator


PoA-related activities

The development and implementation of the Regional Implementation Plan on Combating the Proliferation of Small Arms and Light Weapons (1999 and revised in 2006) has been one of the Stability Pact’s main achievements in the area of small arms. In May 2002 the RCC (as the Stability Pact) and UNDP launched SEESAC, with the mandate to function as a component of the Regional Implementation Plan. SEESAC, through its team leader, serves as the technical point of contact for the RCC’s small arms work. It supports strengthening national and regional capacity to control and reduce the proliferation and misuse of small arms. Since 2003 SEESAC has developed and revised a series of Regional Microdisarmament Standards and Guidelines. SEESAC activities are constantly changing to adapt to the current needs and capacities of local governments and other stakeholders. Currently, SEESAC’s work is focused on several areas of small arms: destruction, collection, and awareness-raising campaigns; storage upgrades; storage management training; marking, tracing, and registration; and arms export control. The RCC Strategy and Work Programme 2011–2013 reiterates SEESAC’s mandate to implement holistic small arms control programmes, with an emphasis on cross-border control, legislative and regulatory issues, management information, surveys, awareness and communications strategy, collection and destruction programmes, and stockpile management issues.

PoA-related programmes and initiatives

PoA-relevant cooperation with other ROs

The EU, NATO, the OSCE, and SELEC are RCC members. The RCC provides political support to SEPCA, SELEC, and RACVIAC (until December 2011 the latter was a project under the Stability Pact). SEESAC and RACVIAC work together as part of the Steering Committee for the RASR initiative.

Legally binding regional instruments

  • None

Other official documents of interest

  • Revised Stability Pact Regional Implementation Plan for Combating the Proliferation of Small Arms and Light Weapons in South East Europe (2006)
  • EU Council Decision 2010/179/CFSP in Support of SEESAC Arms Control Activities in the Western Balkans (2010)
  • RCC Strategy and Work Programme 2011–2013 (2010)
  • Regional Micro-disarmament Standards on the subjects of: National Commissions; Legislation; Export Documentation; Marking and Tracing; Management; Accounting; Monitoring; Verification; Collection; Destruction Planning; Destruction; Storage; Ammunition Storage; Accident Investigations; Ammunition Management; EOD Clearance of Ammunition Depot Explosions; EOD Support; Border Controls; SALW Survey; Safer Community Plans; Development of Awareness Programmes; Children; Gender; Education
  • Regional Steering Group for the Control of Small Arms and Light
    Weapons in South East Europe (2005)


This profile is also available in other languages:


Share this content
Share this content: